Saturday, January 17, 2009

2008 Ultra Marathoners of the Year

Jorge Pacheco of Los Angeles and Kami Semick of Bend, Oregon have been voted the 2008 UltraRunning Magazine North American ultra marathoners of the year.

Jorge Pacheco

Pacheco won six of the eight races he competed in during the year, including the 135-mile Badwater Ultra across Death Valley in July and the Rocky Raccoon 100-Mile run in Huntsville, Texas in February.

Semick won five races during 2008, and placed second in the IAU 100km World Championships in Italy. She was the winner of two of North America’s most competitive events, the Miwok 100km race and The North Face Challenge 50 Mile, both in northern California.

Kami Semick

Performance of the Year – Men
1. Kyle Skaggs’ Hardrock 100 Mile, 23:23:30
2. Dave Mackey’s Miwok 100 km, 7:53:19
3. Scott Jurek’s Spartathlon 153.3 Mile, 22:20:01
4. Brian Robinson’s Barkley 100 Mile, 55:42:27
5. Erik Skaggs' Quad Dipsea 28.4 Mile, 3:52:16

Performance of the Year – Women
1. Kami Semick’s IAU World Championship 100 km, 7:33:58
2. Jamie Donaldson’s Badwater 135 Mile, 26:51:33
3. Susannah Beck’s White River 50 Mile, 7:32:12
4. Susannah Beck’s Way Too Cool 50 km, 3:55:22
5. Dipali Cunningham’s Self-Transcendence 6-Day, 467 miles

Click here for full voting results.

No comments: